Rennet

Rennet is an enzyme which acts on protein and causes it to coagulate. There are two sources of rennet enzyme. Animal rennet is an enzyme which is extracted from the fourth stomach of calves and vegetable based rennet. Vegetable based rennet contains no animal products and has the same coagulating ability as animal rennet when used in milk that has been ripened (acidified) by cheese starter bacteria. This rennet is available in tablet and liquid form. Rennet must be diluted with distilled water prior to adding to milk. Rennet must be refrigerated. NOTE: If your recipe calls for rennet tablets use this conversion. ½ rennet tablet = 1/4 teaspoon liquid rennet.

homemade cheese tray

Cheese Making

Making Cheese is Easy When You Use Our Supplies and Methods.